Why I Ran Through the Mud: Top 5 Reasons

Why I Ran Through the Mud: Top 5 Reasons

Mudderella NY/NJ 2014 was quite an experience. To become physically fit, I trained from January – May with the workouts provided on the website (http://mudderella.com/workouts/). The tagline for the event was “Own Your Strong” so did I feel strong? %$#& YEAH!

Here are my top 5 reasons for why I chose to run through the mud:

  1. THE CHALLENGE IS INTRIGUING – The thought of going through an obstacle course, if you’ve never done one, is pretty scary. You automatically think to yourself, “I’m not cut out for this!” but a small part of you is also like, “But wouldn’t it be cool if I DID do it?” So the thrill chaser in me was intrigued. Of course I am the girl who found chatting with strangers online invigorating more than a decade ago, and the girl who jumped out of an airplane skydiving, before I ever took a plane ride for leisure, and yes the girl who got that VCH piercing because it seemed so bad A$$. Thus, Mudderella was sure to be another feather in my cap.
  2. YOU FIND FRIENDS IN UNLIKELY PLACES – So I heard about Mudderella from a woman who wanted to create a team. Her enthusiasm made me enthusiastic. I said yes! Then I spread the word and invited my closest friends to join us. That’s where things went awry. Out of all the people I asked, only ONE person stepped up to the plate with me. That got me thinking about my circle. It obviously needed to be expanded. Our team ended up being comprised of 12 people and I only knew a few of them. I wondered how this ragtag bunch would do, but surprisingly, we connected immediately for a common goal: To support one another and have a great time! It was remarkable to see how quickly we meshed as if we had been the best of friends for years. This bond propelled me to do my best on game day. We were in it together and there was no turning back.
  3. YOU GET FILTHY – Ok, so obviously the operative word in Mudderella is MUD. And lots of it. Although I knew what to expect, I really didn’t know what to expect! That mud is an experience all in itself. I’m talking WALKING through it. Before we even got to Obstacle 1, the walk from the Start line was a challenge. Sneakers were lost and people were going down. I thought, “What have I gotten myself into!?!” Then later on at one of the obstacles, I accidently got dunked in a pool of muddy water. All was lost at that point. I was covered from head to toe. To my surprise I wasn’t bothered by it. Startled, yes, but I survived. I couldn’t see a thing and someone came to my rescue with napkins to wipe my eyes. All I could do was laugh and smile, even risking getting mud in my mouth. Yuck! So this was the pinnacle of the Mudderella experience, huh? Yup. Warning: Divas stay home! Signing up was a chance for me to forget about how I look on the outside and focus on what I’m made up of on the inside! And that’s where the best stuff is.
  4. GETTING FIT – I enjoy exercising, but are there times I slack off? GUILTY! However when I made the decision to participate in Mudderella, I knew I had to be focused and committed to a workout regimen. I was proud of myself that I woke up every morning at 5am to do the 1hr session. I had created a MudderellaTrainingLog to track my reps and put it all in a handy, dandy Mudderella binder. That binder was my workout bible. For 5 months I trained and saw results. I looked strong. I felt strong. I was strong. I was ready to take on anything. When I came home after the event, I didn’t even feel winded. I took a shower, then a bath, soaking with Epsom salt. The next day, I was up and working out again. Go me!
  5. SUPPORTING A GREAT CAUSE – The proceeds for Mudderella go to an organization called Futures Without Violence (http://mudderella.com/futures-without-violence/) that works to prevent and end domestic violence. As a woman, domestic violence is a relevant topic. Unfortunately my peers and I have experienced toxic relationships that have led or could have led to domestic violence. Therefore, to donate to an organization that fights for DV awareness was something I could not resist.

These are my top 5 reasons for why I ran through the mud. It was a great event that I’m thrilled I was able to experience. My team #BeautyFlies said they’d love to do it again. So I’m looking forward to next year! Will you join me? The choice is yours…

~ by kayemjay on August 3, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
